June killed the rapist. Now, we dance to celebrate!

I love Kate bush*, and I love this particular part of the handmaid’s tale. In case you are not familiar with what has happened here, June has managed to kill a very high level Commander while he was raping her, and the Marthas, who are the domestic servants in Gilead, come into the room to find her and not only do they not turn June over to the authorities, they usher her out and clean up the scene.

And it makes me laugh at the ignorant hubris of males. If males are going to enslave us, then maybe they should not give us access to a huge incinerator. Men are stupid.

Enjoy!!!

Jayne

*I wouldn’t have chosen to write a song about any male, especially not as if they were a hero or something special. But I love Kate bush, anyway.

Leave a comment